Shoes of Confidence

I wonder if this is a girl thing….

I just finished up a presentation I’ll be giving tomorrow morning to my General Manager and his staff.  It’s going to be contentious.  I’m speaking the truth, but there are emotionionally charged comments and face-saving words that will be hurled my way.

I’m now thinking about what shoes I’ll wear tomorrow.  You see I usually where practical shoes- cute, but comfortable wedges.  I can walk fast in them and they are closed-toe lab appropriate.  However, tomorrow I might wear heels.

Why?  Because there is a certain confidence that always comes to me when I wear heels.  Maybe it’s the click they make when I walk across the floor.  Maybe it’s the way they make me stand up straight and take deliberate steps.  Maybe it’s just the nicer clothes I’ll wear with them.  I am not exactly sure why.  I do know that when I walk down the hall towards a my meeting in those heels, I’ll feel like I can take on anyone.  I’ll already feel successful and put together.  It’s a power rush…and one I’ll need to take the world head on tomorrow in my 8am throwdown.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck! :–)

    Reply

  2. Posted by magoodma on February 12, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Thanks. Today only ended up being part 1…look like I’m up for some heels next Friday too.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Deb on February 12, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I’ll be watching for ’em!

    Reply

  4. I agree with you. Heels do make me feel more confident and I think it’s all the reasons you listed. I hope it went well. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

