Handwritten Thank Yous

Ever feel like someone is trying to give you a message?  In the past week or so, I’ve had several people talk to me about handwritten thank you notes.  For most of the, they were making the point that hand written thank you notes are more important now than ever.

In our increasingly electronic world, thank you notes that come to you in envelopes are certainly rare.  It also takes extra effort to get some stationary, a pen, look up an address, and attach a stamp.  I can see how sending a thank you letter does show you care enough to take the extra time.

Sending a thank you letter for just anything, though, takes away some value.  I think you want to write a letter when the situation really merits it.  Here are a few examples of times I’ve received a thank you letter and it made me feel special and appreciated:

  • When I helped make a connection that eventually led to someone landing a new job
  • When I took time to assist in pulling together an award application and nominating someone
  • At the end of a coordinating or helping coordinate a big volunteer event

I know I treasured those letters and still remember them.  Thinking back on them, I don’t think I take the time to write thank you letters as much as I should.  I know my handwriting is not great and I’m out of practice with all my typing.  But, that is just an excuse.

I think I’ll be stopping by the store on the way home, picking up some blank thank you notes, and putting them on my desk at work.  If I have them nearby, maybe I’ll use them more.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by kiki on September 20, 2010 at 11:24 am

    I’m currently reading “The Modern Girl’s Guide to Life” by Jane Buckingham and she also emphasizes the importance of hand written thank you notes. I do think that in an age where everything is increasingly electronic, its easier to stand out when you take a little time to express appreciation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

