Back from Hiatus…and some thoughts on Excuses

After much too log, I’m jumping back on the blogging band wagon.

Why the long lag?  I can offer a whole host of excuses…I moved, my job got busy,  my travel picked up, I had to help my great aunt…

The truth is, it’s a long list of excuses that boils down to me prioritizing other things over this blog.  As soon as I stopped, it stopped being a habit, and I let up on the discipline.  I told myself it was ok if I didn’t get a post out today, I’d do it tomorrow…and tomorrow…and next week.

After a month of not posting, the guilt really set in.  And it seemed monumental to start again- I had let down my regular readers…my next post better be a really good one…all those “should have’s” flooded my mind.

I never thought of blogging as being like a diet or exercise, but it’s actually pretty similar.  If you are used to doing it and do so on a regular basis, it’s easy to keep up.  As soon as you stop for any prolonged amount of time, you need sheer will power…or a boost from someone else to start again.

My boost?  Those of you who kept asking when I’d get my next post up, and being asked to lead a session at a conference tomorrow on Blogging Do’s and Don’ts.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by kiki on September 20, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Glad you’re back. I like your analogy to diet and excersize. Reminds me of Newton’s 1st law of motion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

